Career & Entrepreneurship Achievements

Achievements of Macromedia students

Many of our students inspire us with their innovative ideas, social commitment, and exceptional project work or final theses. Depending on the subject, young talent competitions exist for these students to present their achievements to a wider audience. Especially in the creative fields, such competitions continue on post-university. We encourage our students to participate in competitions and we proudly present a selection of their achievements here:


The vegan pop-up concept Bananaleaf by Macromedia graduate Daniela Weinhold and Nastasia Broda has been awarded the Gastro-Gründerpreis at Internorga 2021.

Media Management students achieve 2nd place in the Fair Trade University Competition Hamburg for their sales concept for Fair Trade certified sportswear in German drugstores, which they developed together with their partner Brands Fashion.

The graduation film “A Story of Live” by Lukas Eichenauer (Directing major) is funded by the FFF Bayern with 25,000 euros.

For her web series “:in” about women in male-dominated professions, Macromedia graduate Annika Prigge receives funding from the BKM, the Institut für Medienpädagogik Jugend Film Fernsehen (JFF) and the Competence Center

The debut film “Trübe Wasser” by Macromedia graduates Christian Schäfer (Directing) and Glenn Büsing (Screenwriting) premiered at the 42nd Max Ophüls Preis Film Festival.

For their short film “Masel Tov”, Macromedia graduates Arkadij Khaet (Directing) and Mickey Paatzsch (Directing) have been awarded the Civis Media Prize for Integration and Cultural Diversity. Arkadij Khaet was also honoured in the competition with the “Young C. Award”. “Masel Tov” has also been nominated for the Grimme Prize 2021.


The FFF Bayern is funding the graduation films “Dormant” by Leonhard Kuhn (directing course) with 25,000 € and “Sensual Art” by Chiara Engl (directing course) with 13,000 €.

The graduation film “Briefe an den Sohn” by Mats Willems (Directing) is funded by the Film- und Medienstiftung NRW with 20,000 €.

For the DOP edit of the graduation film “Welcome to my room” by Jonathan Fischer-Appelt (Directing), Milad Raha (Camera) is nominated for the best edit in the Young Talent category of the German Camera Award competition.

The short film “Masel Tov” by Macromedia graduates Arkadij Khaet (Directing) and Mickey Paatzsch (Directing) was awarded the Education Prize at the “German Human Rights Film Award”. At the Filmfest Dresden, the filmmakers were honoured with the Promotional Award.

A study by music management students from the Hamburg campus achieves second place in the Best Paper Award of the GMM Gesellschaft für Musikwirtschafts- und Musikkulturforschung e.V. (Society for Music Business and Music Culture Research).

The podcast “Kanackische Welle” by journalism graduate Marcel Aburakia and Malcolm Ohanwe is awarded the Smart Hero Award 2020 in the category “Demokratisch Gestalten” by the Digital Opportunities Foundation and Facebook.

Macromedia journalism graduate Jonas Bargmann and Maurizio Valgolio have received the 20th German Paralympic Media Award for their coverage of the 2019 European Blind Football Championships.

Macromedia students from the Cologne campus have received funding from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research BMBF to implement a multimedia report on the topic of bioeconomy.


The graduation films “Unter den Jahren” by Alexander Müller (Directing), “Köpfer” by Mark Kuhlmann (Directing), “Ole, Benni und der Rest des Universums” by Anna Ludwig (Directing) and “… und dann war der Himmel klar” by Bader Khlifi (Directing) will each receive 25,000 euros in funding from the FFF Bayern. “Ole, Benni und der Rest des Universums” also receives 20,000 euros in film funding from the BKM.

Neon Leuchtwerbung Schriftzug WOW

Awards from Macromedia

Macromedia University regularly participates in external evaluations. The main purpose of these evaluations is to give prospective students an independent impression of the study experience at the Macromedia University.


The film “Cargo – Der Transport” by Christina Tournatzes (Directing) receives 25,000 euros in funding from the FFF Bayern. BR is involved as a co-producer with 16,000 €.

The debut film “Sayaka” by Katja Hauman (Directing major) and Benjamin Anton Wahl (Design Management major) is funded by the FFF Bayern with 62,000 €. BR is involved as a co-producer with 8,000 €.

At the Max Ophüls Preis 2018, the graduation film “Dieter not unhappy” by Christian Schäfer (Directing) and Glenn Büsing (Screenwriting) will celebrate its world premiere. It is nominated in the “Medium-Length Film” competition.